To disable the entire User Defined Field:
  1. Click Management
  2. Click User Defined Fields
  3. Select the category where you store this field
  4. Click the Enabled button below the name of the field (the field will be italicized and gray)
  5. Click Save and View Categories

To disable a value from the User Defined Field:
  1. Click Management
  2. Click User Defined Fields
  3. Select the category where you store this field
  4. Click the name of the field
  5. Click the Enabled button below the name of the value (the value will be italicized and gray)
  6. Click Save and Finish

There are a few effects to disabling a User Defined Field or value that we need to remain aware of:
  • When we disable a field, we can no longer create queries or reports based on that field
  • The disabled field or value will not be available on new accounts or journal entries
  • We can still view disabled fields and values on screens where they already have data stored in them (for example: accounts that already have the donor's birthday will still show the field and the value). However if we remove the value for this field, we cannot add it back to the donor's account.
  • Queries and reports that had the field or value added to them while the field was enabled will display the existing data in the field or value

If you need to re-enable a User Defined Field or a value, please see How to enable a User Defined Field.