Some accounts may be merged when they should have remained two separate accounts, perhaps by a manual merge or an online giving submission.
We cannot undo an account merge. Once the merge has been completed only one of the accounts exists. If the other account is needed it can be re-created and any applicable information can be entered on the new account. There is data regarding the merged account in the Journal within a Note dated the day of the merge. Transactions may need to be moved from one account to another, please see Can a Journal Entry be Transferred From One Account to Another?.