In some rare cases, our clients will receive reports from their applicants that they were working in an Application or Requirement form and were kicked out when they tried to Save and Finish Later. The reason this might occur is due to the fact that our forms have a hard 20-minute timeout - if the applicant takes more than 20 minutes to complete the form without saving within that window, their changes are lost.
To prevent this from happening, we suggest that our clients enable their own Timeout/Idle settings on their account so that they have more control over when the form times out - the timeout can be increased to go well above 20 minutes if you wish. Please follow the instructions below to make these changes.
In Account Designer ensure the "Timeout Settings" checkbox is marked. We suggest 45 minutes for "Idle Minutes" and 60 minutes for "Timeout Minutes". The Idle warning text should contain a message informing users they are about to be logged out and will lose all work that has not been saved. We suggest something similar to "You are about to be signed out please click "SAVE and FINISH LATER" to keep your work". The Timeout text should have a message communicating "Due to inactivity you have been signed out and any unsaved information will be lost".
To adjust your Timeout Settings:
1. Log into Blackbaud Grantmaking (formerly GIFTS Online) 2. Click Launch > Applications > Forms Manager 3. When Forms Manager loads, go to Settings > Account Designer 4. Under Settings click Properties 5. On the far left rail, go down to the "Timeout Settings" section > mark the checkbox for "Enable Timeout" 6. Customize your Idle Minutes, Timeout Minutes and Warning Text. 7. Click Save and Close
*NOTE: This is a system wide change that will be enabled for all applications.