When an email is triggered in the system, whether it gets delivered right away or not, the system will create the message and save it for potential future use. This can be seen in the History as an entry in the format of, "Message XXX was created on XXX by XXX."
For example, a message template may be set to Upon Approval because it needs to be approved by an Administrator before it's sent out. After the email is sent it, it is no longer needed. However, as nothing is deleted, an entry is retained in the User History for historical purposes.
Will I still see the text of the email in the User's Email Log?
- If the email was successfully sent, the email including its text will show in the Email Log as Message Delivered.
- If the email was successfully sent, the History will contain the following entries: first, that "Message XXX was updated" to list its delivery date and time; and second, indicating the "Message XXX was destroyed on XXX by the system user" after it was successfully delivered and no longer needed. They should appear in chronological order and have the same Message number.
There are several reasons why an email will not appear in the Email Log, and still have a corresponding entry in the History indicating the message was destroyed, and by whom (the system user, an admin, or another user).
- An Administrator deleted the email from the User Messages queue rather than sending it.
- A reference logged into their portal prior to receiving a reference request and started the reference, negating the need for the email to be sent.
- The triggering event for the email was cancelled, for example an applicant was moved out of an encumbering category.